2020 Virtual Convention Recap

Thank you to everyone who participated in our first virtual convention – what a week it has been! Whether you followed along throughout the week on social media or are just catching up now, we hope you are excited about what’s happening within Phi Mu.

National Council Election Results

The five women slated for office were elected by the voting delegates:

National President Andie Kash, Delta Eta (Georgetown College)

National Vice President Cynthia Bland, Gamma Delta (American University)

National Vice President Denise McDermott, Beta Eta (Miami University)

National Vice President Karey Neville, Delta Tau (Western Kentucky University)

National Vice President Jessica Oswald, Gamma Mu (Western Carolina University)

National Vice Presidents Dr. Jeanne Bowman Pursuit, Beta Mu (The Pennsylvania State University), and Lynn Storlien McGraw, Zeta Sigma (University of Wisconsin-River Falls), who were appointed in 2019, will continue in their positions. Frances Dobernig Mitchelson, Alpha Rho (University of Louisiana at Monroe), will continue to serve on National Council as the appointed National Panhellenic Conference Delegate. Congratulations! A detailed press release is on the convention website.

Thank you to Shani Burley-Moore, Kappa Alpha (Mississippi State University), Beth Denney Ward, Delta Eta (Georgetown College), Jennifer Hobaugh Johnson, Gamma Alpha (The College of William & Mary), and Beth Reisinger, Phi Gamma (University of Maryland-Baltimore County), for their service on National Council this biennium!

Constitution and Bylaws of Phi Mu Fraternity Amendments

All of the proposed amendments to The Constitution and Bylaws of Phi Mu Fraternity passed by the voting delegates. For details, refer to the “redline” document posted on the Library under Events/2020 Fraternity Business (accessible with your MyPhiMu account).

Biennium Awards

Award announcements have been posted on social media and a complete listing is on the convention website. Below is a list of the major award recipients by category. These awards would typically be announced at Carnation Banquet.

Collegiate Awards

Carnation Cup

Kappa Eta, Nicholls State University (Winner)

Alpha Psi, Southeastern Louisiana University (Honorable Mention)

Outstanding Collegiate Member for Service to Campus/Community Award

Desiree’ Dyson, Kappa Lambda, University of Memphis (Winner)

Allison Paxton, Beta Nu, Bethany College (Honorable Mention)

Outstanding Collegiate Member for Service to Phi Mu Award

Laura Rusk, Rho Theta, Elmhurst University (Winner)

Isabella Shelby, Xi Alpha, University of Colorado Boulder (Honorable Mention)

Rose and White

Kappa Chi, University of Montevallo (Winner)

Epsilon Epsilon, Oklahoma City University (Honorable Mention)

Philomathean Society

Alpha Beta, University of Arkansas

Alpha Eta, Louisiana State University

Alpha Iota, Mercer University

Alpha Nu, University of Florida

Alpha Psi, Southeastern Louisiana University

Alpha Sigma, University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Alpha Zeta, University of Alabama

Chi, University of Missouri

Delta, Tulane University

Delta Eta, Georgetown College

Delta Omega, Case Western Reserve University

Delta Zeta, University of Cincinnati

Epsilon Iota, Texas Christian University

Epsilon Rho, Lyon College

Gamma Alpha, The College of William and Mary

Gamma Delta, American University

Kappa Eta, Nicholls State University

Kappa Lambda, University of Memphis

Kappa Pi, Tennessee Technological University

Kappa Sigma, Jacksonville State University

Kappa Xi, University of West Alabama

Lambda Epsilon, Christopher Newport University

Mu, Brenau University

Phi Delta, Salisbury University

Phi Gamma, University of Maryland,Baltimore County

Phi Kappa, Muhlenberg College

Rho, Hanover College

Rho Alpha, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)

Rho Kappa, Kent State University

Theta Gamma, Florida International University

Theta Zeta, Georgia Institute of Technology

Alumnae Awards

Wesleyan Cup

Chicago West Suburban (Winner)

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (Honorable Mention)

Founders’ Circle

Denver, Colorado

Richmond, Virginia

Outstanding Alumna Achievement for Contribution to Community Award

Marisol O’Neal, Alpha Lambda, Louisiana Tech University

Gabby Spatt, Alpha Nu, University of Florida

Outstanding Alumna Achievement for Contribution to Profession Award

Alicia K. Haynes, Kappa Iota, Northwestern State University of Louisiana 

Outstanding Alumna Achievement for Contribution to Phi Mu Award

Sharon Henson, Delta Eta, Georgetown College

Outstanding Advisory Council Member Award

Lori Colburn, Kappa Chi, for Alpha Zeta, University of Alabama (Winner)

Susan Bristow, Alpha Beta, for Alpha Beta, University of Arkansas (Honorable Mention)

Outstanding Chapter Adviser Award

Erica Rosa, Theta, for Theta, Belmont University (Winner)

Robin Benoit, Epsilon Nu, for Epsilon Epsilon, Oklahoma City University (Honorable Mention)

Volunteer of the Biennium

Past National President and NPC Delegate

Frances Dobernig Mitchelson, Alpha Rho, University of Louisiana Monroe

Convention Videos

Several videos, including the 2018-2020 State of the Fraternity video (above), is available at phimu.org/convention!

Throughout the week, the Fraternity has shared a variety of video updates on social media. These are all available on our website for you to view at your convenience.

Caring Carnations

Phi Mu Foundation has a longstanding tradition of spreading joy and happiness at convention with Caring Carnations that sisters can send to one another as a symbol of love, support, gratefulness and friendship. Virtual Caring Carnations are available for purchase now through July 17 and will be sent to sisters and friends through email with a message that a contribution has been made by you in their honor to benefit the Foundation’s Fraternity Grant Fund specifically to support Phi Mu’s diversity, equity and inclusion work.

CMN Hospitals Day

Wednesday, July 8 was Phi Mu’s “Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals Day” and we are grateful for the support shown by our members to help #ChangeKidsHealth and #ChangeTheFuture this week! There are still a few items left on the Walmart “Registry for Good” wish list and monetary donations can be made through our DonorDrive page to support the Orlando Health Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children.

Are You Forever Faithful?

Forever Faithful, our alumnae dues program, started the new fiscal year on July first. If you have not already joined, please do so now! Anyone who pays their 2020-2021 Forever Faithful dues by the end of July will be entered into a drawing for a badge donated by Herff Jones!

Join Us for the 2022 and 2024 National Conventions

Please join us for our 2022 Convention at the Arizona Biltmore in Phoenix, July 6-10, 2022. Although we were unable to celebrate at Walt Disney World this summer, we hope you will join us for the 2024 Convention at Disney’s Yacht and Beach Club Resorts, July 9-14, 2024.

Thank You to Our Sponsors!

Three Star Level ($10,000)

DT & Associates of Raymond James

Herff Jones

Philomathean Society Level ($7,500)


 Fraternal Law Partners

Carnation Level ($5,000)


Holmes Murphy